The SNP and Nicola Sturgeon humiliated in 2017 General Election

  • Alfie Baron
Scottish voters have categorically rejected Nicola Sturgeon's repeated calls for a second Scottish Independence referendum.

The SNP had 56 MPs in Westminster following the 2015 General Election. This was quickly reduced to 54 as both Natalie McGarry and Michelle Thomson resigned the whip amid various police investigations.

The 2017 General Election saw the Scottish National Party reduced to just 35 MPs to sit at Westminster.

Some big names in the Scottish National Party lost their seats.

The biggest being Angus Robertson, who was the SNPs leader at Westminster. He lost his Moray seat to Conservative Douglas Ross who won with a majority of 4,159.

Alex Salmond look devastated at losing his Gordon seat to Colin Clark of the Conservatives. Mr Clark won with a majority of 2,607.

John Nicolson was another who lost his seat. The East Dunbartonshire seat went to Liberal Democrat, Jo Swinson, who took the seat with a majority of 5,339.

Stuart Donaldson lost the West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine seat to Tory Andrew Bowie.

Callum McCaig lost the Aberdeen South seat to Tory Ross Thomson.

Mike Weir lost his Angus seat to Conservative Kirstene Hair.

Corri Wilson, who was often accused of nepotism after employing both her son and daughter (at different times), lost the Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock seat to Conservative Bill Grant.

Eilidh Whiteford lost the Banff and Buchan vote to Conservative David Duguid.

Calum Kerr lost the Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk seat to Conservative John Lamont.

Paul Monaghan, another Scottish National Party big hitter, lost the Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross seat to Liberal Democrat Jamie Stone. Paul Monaghan will be best remembered for his disgusting tweets about the butcher's apron, assaults on the monarchy, misrepresenting Dr Alison Brooks, recently being reported to Ipsa, hijacking the USA Tartan Week event, the SNP obsession with the UK weather map and allegedly paying his brother over 200 hours of overtime.

Phil Boswell, often criticised for his alleged use of a tax avoidance scheme, lost his Coatbridge, Chryston and Belshill seat to Labour's Hugh Gaffney. Phil Boswell was also under the spotlight for having to repay office expenses and failing to register an interest in Boswell and Johnston Ltd

Richard Arkless has lost his Dumfries and Galloway seat to Conservative Alister Jack.

George Kerevan has lost his East Lothian seat to Labour's Martin Whitfield.

Liberal Democrat Christine Jardine has taken Edinburgh West. The seat was previously help by Independent Michelle Thomson. Ms Thomson had started the parliamentary session as an SNP MP but resigned the whip following investigations into her property dealings. Toni Giugliano was the new Scottish National Party candidate for the seat. Toni Giugliano has previously been in the spotlight for allegedly sending a message to Ian Murray asking: "Since when do you take pride in the Union Jack's bloodstains?"

Christine Jardine has had a challenging run up to the General Election. One notable event is the attack on Christine Jardine from the SNPs local election candidate Simon Hayter. Mr Hayter had accused Ms Jardine of taking part in election activity on a day of suspended activity following a terrorist attack. Ms Jardine had in fact been at the funeral of her husband on the day Mr Hayter attacked her.

Natalie McGarry's East Glasgow seat was held by the SNP after David Linden replaced her as the Scottish National Party candidate. Natalie McGarry was constantly battling accusations of financial impropriety during her time as an MP. Natalie McGarry was charged with several alleged offences, including embezzlement of funds, breach of trust and an offence under the Scottish Independence Referendum Act 2013. Another high profile case involved Natalie McGarry calling Alastair Cameron a 'holocaust denier'. During her time as an MP she was also detained in Turkey. Natalie McGarry also attacked J.K. Rowling on twitter: "Wow @jk_rowling vanity searches her name & then defends abusive misogynist trolls"

Natalie McGarry also married Conservative David Meikle.

Anne McLaughlin lost her Glasgow North East seat to Labour's Paul Sweeney.

Roger Mullin lost his Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath seat to Labour's Lesley Laird.

Owen Thompson lost his Midlothian seat to Labour's Danielle Rowley.

High profile Tasmina Ahmed Sheikh lost her seat (Ochil and South Perthshire) to Tory Luke Graham. Tasmina Ahmed Sheikh is currently being investigated by the Scottish Law Society.

Tasmina Ahmed Sheikh has also had dealings with HMRC. Initially Ms Sheikh said: "I have no outstanding personal tax liability whatsoever with HMRC". It later emerged that Ms Sheikh had "settled the dispute ahead of a court hearing".

Kirsten Oswald lost her seat for Renfrewshire East to Tory Paul Masterton.

Margaret Ferrier lost her seat for Rutherglen and Hamilton West to Labour's Ged Killen.

Steven Paterson has lost his seat for Stirling to Tory Stephen Kerr. Stirling was featured quite heavily in the news on the immediate run up to the General Election. Lorna Taylor, an SNP activist. was charged by police for "a breach of the peace and a road traffic offence in Cowie". The charges followed the release of two videos, which were recorded and released by Lorna Taylor.

Alasdair MacPherson, councillor for Bannockburn, also came under pressure after he offered his full support for the harassment of the campaigners.
SNP MSP Mark McDonald quits SNP in Sleaze Investigation
  • Alfie Baron

Aberdeen Donside MSP Mark McDonald has quit the Scottish National Party (SNP).

His resignations follows allegations of misconduct against at least two women.

McDonald resigned from the SNP with immediate effect - but will remain as an Independent MSP.